Overseas travel ban on Ravi Karunanayake

The decision on whether or not to issue arrest warrants on MP Ravi Karunanayake and 11 others will be announced by the Fort Magistrate on the 6th of March.

The Attorney General, yesterday (03) directed the Acting IGP to obtain arrest warrants against several suspects in the Central Bank bond scam case including former Finance Minister Ravi Karunanayake, former CBSL Governor Arjuna Mahendran and PTL owner Arjun Aloysius.

Further, the 12 suspects have been barred from leaving the country.

The Acting IGP was instructed to obtain warrants from the court for the arrest of former Finance Minister Ravi Karunanayake, former Governor of the Central Bank Arjuna Mahendran, Perpetual Treasuries Limited (PTL) owner Arjun Aloysius, CEO Kasun Palisena, former Director of the Public Debt Department of the Central Bank T.H.B. Sarathchandra and several others.

They are to be arrested on charges of conspiracy, criminal misappropriation, cheating and market manipulation in respect of the bond auctions of March 2016.

The Attorney General Dappula De Livera states that there is reasonable suspicion against the following individuals with regard to the criminal wrongdoings which had occurred during the treasury bond issuances on March 29 and March 31, 2016 and that they should be considered as suspects:

1. Perpetual Treasuries Limited
2. Sandesh Ravindra Karunanayake
3. Lakshman Arjuna Mahendran
4. Arjun Joseph Aloysius
5. Palisena Appuhamilage Don Kasun Oshada Palisena
6. Geoffrey Joseph Aloysius
7. Chitta Ranjan Hulugalle
8. Muthuraja Surendran
9. Ajahn Gardiye Punchihewa
10. Thuyya Handiyage Buddhika Sarathchandra
11. Sangarapillai Pathumanapan
12. Badugoda Hewa Indika Saman Kumara

The AG instructs the Acting IGP to name the aforementioned individuals as suspects with the regard to the investigations, record statement from them and report information to the court naming them as suspects.

You May also like