President appointed Aluthgamage as the nominee to CC

Minister of Agriculture, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, has been appointed by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa as his nominee to the Constitutional Council.

The letter of appointment dated August 17 has been handed over to the Minister, ministry sources said.

In the letter, the President stated that the minister has been appointed as his nominee as per the Article 41a.(1) (d) of the Constitution.

The CC consists of ten members and three of them are ex-officio members.

Accordingly, Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardane, Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa have been appointed as the ex-officio members.

You May also like