Speaker to announce COPE names tomorrow

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya is expected to announce the names of new members, who would be included in the Parliamentary Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) and Committee on Public Accounts (COPA) tomorrow, Parliamentary sources said today.

Sources told TrueNews.lk that almost all former members of COPE and COPA had been retained while MP Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe is expected to be nominated as a new member in the COPE.

The chairpersons of the two committees will be chosen by their members when they meet.

The committees became defunct when Parliament was prorogued just after the Presidential Election last year.

You May also like