Still, no Chairmen to COPE & COPA, why the delay? – Sajith

COLOMBO (News 1st); Sri Lankan Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa on Monday (29) questioned the government on the delay in appointing the Chairmen for the two Parliament Watchdogs the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) and Committee on Public Accounts (COPA).

“When the President was the Prime Minister, on multiple occasions accepted that MPs Harsha De Silva, Kabir Hashim, and Eran Wickramaratne must be appointed to COPF, COPE, and COPA,” said Premadasa while questioning why the MPs were not appointed to those committees as promised.

SJB MP Harsha de Silva has already been appointed chair of the Committee on Public Finance.

Opposition leader Premadasa and chief opposition whip Lakshman Kiriella questioned whether standing orders in parliament were going to be suspended to make the appointments.

Leader of the House and Education Minister Susil Premajayantha proposed that an agreement on the matter be reached at the next meeting of the Committee on Parliamentary Business chaired by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena who is currently out of the country.

However, MP Kiriella noted that a ruling party Member of Parliament had noted that promises made during the Aragalaya are not valid.

You May also like