UPFA constituent parties won’t accept Thilanga as General Secretary

Constituent parties in the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) while expressing dismay about the removal of Minister Mahinda Amaraweera from the position of UPFA General Secretary yesterday said that they will not accept Thilanga Sumathipala as UPFA General Secretary.

The Constituent parties in the UPFA in a statement said that they came to know through media that UPFA General Secretary   Mahinda Amaraweera has been replaced by former parliamentarian Thilanga Sumathipala

The statement has been issued under the hands of Mahajana Eksath Peramuna General Secretary Tissa Jayawardena Yapa, National Congress Chief Secretary A.L.M.Athaulla, Desha Vimukthi Janatha Party Chief Secretary D.Kalansuriya, Eelam People’s Democratic Party (EPDP) General Secretary Douglas Devananda and Sri Lanka Mahajana Party General Secretary Asanga Nawaratne.

They said that the UPFA constituent parties should be informed about the removal of UPFA General secretary Mahinda Amaraweera and the appointment of Thilanga Sumathipala as it new General secrtary in terms of the UPFA Constitution.

You May also like